top of page
  • ms.wagner

Bacteria, WHO?

Did you know, bacteria is everywhere, in your body, on your body, and anywhere.



NC State, June 28, 2019 - Bacteria is the smallest, most primitive life form on Earth. You can not see the majority of bacteria by the naked eye. Some bacteria are bad while others are good. Your body contains thousands of bacteria cells!


Today, we grew bacteria in petri dishes on nutrient agar. We were curious about which everyday objects have the most bacteria. I swabbed for bacteria on my iPhone home button and on my tongue. No surprise, my iPhone home button had more bacteria than my tongue. But surprisingly, my tongue did have bacteria - yuck!! The image on the left is the bacteria that was found on my iPhone. The image on the right is the bacteria that was found on my tongue.


I wonder what type of bacteria is growing on the door handle of the bathroom? Or the school desk you are sitting at?

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page